Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Project Recipe » A Map, Timeline, & Story: Two Ways

Family story gems collected in the swamps of Albemarle Sound, North Carolina, that have been organized into a framed collage and an interactive site. See detailed project recipe at bottom 👇

I’ve had the good fortune to inherit an extraordinary recitation of our family history from my grandmother who passed away in the 1960s — I never had a chance to get to know her. Her legacy included a limited-edition, self-published book of family history. The book formed a fascinating trail of clues for her heirs to follow in our family history research.

This particular project came about on the occasion of my first visit to see my brother and his family at his vacation home in North Carolina’s Outer Banks in the summer of 2023.

On a hunch, I started searching my grandmother’s book for clues about ancestors of ours who lived in the Albemarle Sound area. I knew we had Quaker ancestors, but I didn’t know about how important the area was in Quaker history in North America. I decided to use what I’d learned to assemble a gift for my brother and his family.

Session recording

In reviewing this recording, keep in mind that this was the very first time we’d presented one of these Project Recipe events. These seem important and we’ll continue to refine our approach. See the discussion questions and watch for a thread in chat to engage in the conversation.

Slides used in the presentation

Project Recipe Event » Sept 14 »two Views » Slides
26.4MB ∙ PDF file
Download
Download

Project Recipe with detailed instructions

Digital Project Recipe Map, Timeline & Story Two Ways Sept 14
493KB ∙ PDF file
Download
Download

This recipe is intended for the benefit of all Projectkin member subscribers. If you’ve managed to find this and are not yet a member, well, good for you.

Now that you’re here, wouldn’t you like to become a member?

0 Comments
Projectkin Community Forum
Project Recipes 🔐
Archives of our Project Recipe events as shared with all subscribing members. If you're not yet a member, you're welcome to explore before joining.