Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
1

Project Recipe » A “Private Podcast” as outreach for your Family Archive

Starting a podcast to share your stories with your extended family — privately. You'll engage your family in the stories that matter without the performative distortions of social media.
1

Privacy for Storytelling

From our start in 2023, the Projectkin Community has been incredibly generous with their ideas and projects to share. I’ve only rarely had the chance to share a project recipe. I started on this idea soon after joining Substack. The more I worked on it, the more I appreciated its potential. This could be important for you, too. Let me explain.

As consumers, we’re often lured into platforms whose business models require us to compromise our privacy. Advertising models famously have this as the core exchange. For my family archive, I decided that privacy was non-negotiable. The story you tell is affected by who is in the room. The solution I came up with had to ensure a reasonable level of privacy for storytelling.

In building Projectkin.org, my commitment to privacy and platform independence led me to realize that I could use my development experience to help fellow genealogy travelers create private storytelling spaces. I hope this is helpful to you, too.

Combining platforms

Today’s talk brought together two core elements of that private storytelling effort:

  • The WeAre.xyz family history archive is private by default, though you can configure pages as public blogs.

  • Substack as a multimedia-rich, yet potentially access-controlled, newsletter.

Putting the two of these together creates a pathway for private storytelling that’s also archived. This has great potential for families. That’s what this solution is all about. As I described during our event (and as you can see in the recording above), I’ve prepared a few resources for you to use to recreate this for yourself.

This assumes you’re comfortable creating materials and generally playing with tools like Substack newsletters and WeAre.xyz for your archive.

Ingredients

As I explained in the presentation, you are more than welcome to explore this recipe using your own “ingredients” (specifically, different archive or outreach tools). In fact, if you do, we’d love to hear about it. Please add your thoughts in the comments below.

Leave a comment

To share these Projectkin recipes, I’ve developed a format that consistently covers the ingredients and workflow. This time, however, I realized that there’s more detail to provide about configuring your Substack for a “private” podcast that is non-obvious, so I’ve created a separate “detail” document with step-by-step instructions:

Project Recipe Private Podcast
1.73MB ∙ PDF file
Download
This is the "recipe" for creating a private podcast for extended family to engage them in your family history archive. This recipe describes using separate platforms from WeAre.xyz and Substack.com for archives and outreach. You can use other tools, however.
Download
Private Podcast Configuration Details
5.78MB ∙ PDF file
Download
Configuration details for using WeAre.xyz as a family history archive and Substack.com for outreach in the described “Private Podcast” among family members.
Download

Since it’s also helpful to have a copy of slides, I’ve provided those here as well. All documents are in PDF format though with so many illustrations the files can be quite large.

Recipe Private Podcasts (slides)
45.7MB ∙ PDF file
Download
Full set of slides used for the Projectkin Private Podcasts project recipe. To learn more about this presentation, and view the recording, please see Projectkin.org/recipes
Download

Was this post shared with you? It’s free. Why not subscribe and get the next post and all of our Projectkin event recordings sent directly to your inbox?

I hope you have enjoyed this program. Feel free to add questions and comments below, and if you’re interested, you can also explore the discussion in the Substack chat.

Join the discussion in chat

I will add that based on a question asked in the chat I didn’t notice till after the program ended, I added a slide to answer a question about whether we were “Just linking” to video. Also note that this post itself is an example of a video post.Great question,

.


We’re coming up on a busy season of events for Projectkin. To see what’s coming up next, please visit —

EVENT CALENDAR

Discussion about this podcast

Projectkin Community Forum
Project Recipes 🔐
Archives of our Project Recipe events as shared with all subscribing members. Each month we share new recipes with downloadable details, resources, and a transcript. To learn more about the next Project Recipes scheduled, see Projectkin.org/events